Friday Five Linkup

DC_linkup

I’m finally linking up with Mar, Cynthia and Courtney for the Friday Five! These inspirational running bloggers from DC have been posting themes every Friday and inviting fellow bloggers to linkup.

This week’s theme:

Favorite Races

Kic It Olympic Distance Triathlon

1) Instead of starting with a 5k or a fun run race like Warrior Dash or the Color Run, for my very first race I dove right into an Olympic Distance Triathlon. I was dating a guy at the time who was training for an Ironman and without much convincing, maybe just some pity, I let him sign me up. My training plan of swimming in a pool almost everyday and going to a spin class once or twice a week did not quite prepare me for the Long Island Sound open water swim or the rolling gigantic hills of Connecticut. Nonetheless I completed it and had a blast!

262643_1867060681179_3642108_n

 

2)Tough Mudder New England

I tagged along with my friend Ashley for a family weekend up at her Grandparents beautiful cottage in Vermont.. Winding up and down a muddy ski slope on a beautiful Vermont day and overcoming the mental challenges of the obstacles makes it one of my favorite races and weekends of all times! After the race we explored the area, went blueberry picking on Ashley’s grandparents property and ate the best fresh home grown vegetables.

1149020_635072833183356_405149883_n

993997_10100240376056491_780230004_n

 

 

 

3)The Jumpstart 5k 2014.

After a summer of hardcore Crossfit training I took an entire 3 minutes off 5K my time and won the women’s division!

Accepting my award at the Jumpstart 5k!

Accepting my award at the Jumpstart 5k!

 

4)Sarah Bishop 10k Trail Race

The Sarah Bishop 10k was my first autumn trail race and it was absolutely gorgeous. I highly recommend this to anyone who loves trails in the Fall.

Sarahbishophome

 

 

 

 

5)Fairfield Half Marathon 2014

My PR half! In beautiful Fairfield CT along the beach. The weather was a little hot which made it more difficult but I loved the challenge.

My friend Trevor and me post race

My friend Trevor and me post race

 

 

 

About Keren

I'm Keren, a 25 year old personal trainer, living in Urban Connecticut. Disclaimer I am not a registered dietitian nor do I have certifications for everything I share. My recommendations are based mostly on my opinion from personal experience.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Running, Swimming and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Friday Five Linkup

  1. An Olympic distance triathlon, kudos to you! I hope to do a triathlon one day.

Leave a comment