Updates and Weekly Workouts

After Sunday’s 20.5 miler I decided to give myself a recovery day. Monday I wore my compression socks to work and iced my knees between sessions.

By Tuesday I was feeling okay. I had singed up for an aerial yoga at Kaia  were I had my 30 day trial. If you have never done aerial yoga, stop what you are doing right now and sign up. Hanging upside-down in this pose was one of my most freeing experiences. And the instructor Matan is incredible. His regular classes are by far my favorite out of the 20+ teachers I’ve had. Its only in his classes that I can accomplish the yoga goal: connect to the breathe and clear my mind.985f02_69987bf544934e3589a39aabc83d9e6b_jpg_srz_405_646_75_22_0_50_1_20_0Then I went to karate for the Tuesday night Black Belt class. I was feeling a little drained at this point especially since I hadn’t slept well the last two nights after my run.

Wednesday I went to Crossfit for a dirty WOD of 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 ground to overhead with a 400 meter run in between. Running surprisingly felt great. Then I had a little karate/sparing session with a friend that night. He’s a pro-fighter so he’s quite amazing. He taught me a lot.

Thursday was an Olympic lifting geared Crossfit class. We worked on back squats, strict presses and deadlifts. Though I’ve calmed down a lot with my cardio obsession, I still need to get my heart pumping a little to feel I got an adequate workout so I added a short run after the WOD.

I went back to Crossfit again on Friday for an amazing workout. 50-40-30-20-10 calorie row, single arm KB swings and ring pushups. It took me 33 sweaty minutes.

Saturday started with an outdoor karate class at a nearby school. I wish we could have class outside every week. Its nice getting your feet dirty. It makes me feel like a real ninja. And the weather was spectacular. I couldn’t make it to CF that day because of work so I did my own WOD (loosely based off my box’s WOD) 40 man-makers, 60 burpees, 90 box jumps. Short and intense!

10670131_10152245356511249_6111537168008090236_n

I’m second from the right

Tomorrow (Sunday) I plan to make it to Crossfit in the morning and then I have my karate friend’s baby shower. Check out the gifts I got for her baby!

image

About Keren

I'm Keren, a 25 year old personal trainer, living in Urban Connecticut. Disclaimer I am not a registered dietitian nor do I have certifications for everything I share. My recommendations are based mostly on my opinion from personal experience.
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

