A Good Coach Changes the Sport

Last summer there were a few people in my karate circle encouraging me to join them in an early autumn marathon. I toyed with the idea for a little as I gathered advice from multiple sources. 99.9% of the feedback I got was that I didn’t have enough time to train. Even the hardcore Ironman Finishers steered me away from entering the race without proper training. There was really only one person convincing me it was a good idea and that was my Crossfit coach. Lets call him Jon. Jon, who was suppose to play the role of my most influential fitness leader at the time, was telling me the very opposite of what any responsible coach should.  Because he himself had completed a half marathon by only doing Crossfit, he was confident that a full wouldn’t be much different.  He even said he would do it to if it wasn’t a day he had to work. Ok Jon. Thankfully his mantra of “power through” and his stolen Nike slogan “just do it” were not convincing enough. Though very knew to the trainer world at the time, I was educated enough not to trust him. For he was the man who came in dead last in a local Crossfit endurance race. He was also the kind of coach who only paid attention to people in the class he had built friendships with. He never graciously offered help when I’d stay after class or dished complements to really anyone. Any good coach knows the Sandwich Method. Positivity goes a long way. In any case, the point that I am trying to make is not only that as a Crossfit leader, Jon seriously sucked, but at his box I had missed the essence of what Crossfit was suppose to be about.

#1 Crossfit is a community.

#2 As a regular Crossfit athlete, one’s goal is not to excel at one thing but be very good at lots of things.

#3 Paleo is encouraged but not strict Paleo, and definitely not enforced. Crossfit recognizes that everyone’s body needs different things

#4 Crossfit movements are all functional exercises and therefor are meant to be for everyone. (Scaling options are always provided)

Number one especially is the most important to me. Even with my negative experience, luckily there was still a big part of me drawn to the sport. After taking 6 months off, I started up again this past August at a new box. All I can say that within one week I finally understood the hype and fell a subject to the addiction. All the coaches are fully dedicated to perfecting our movements. They are encouraging and just overall quality people. I’ll often show up on my own time when I can’t make class and anyone training will invite me to join them. When I was completing our week’s 5 minute burpee challenge solo, I had a whole team of people cheering me on. When I leave the box, I feel accomplished, yet there is always more I want to learn.

This past weekend I decided last minute to attend a Crossfit Level 1 Training Seminar. My weekend experience was truly life changing. I discovered there are parallels between Crossfit and karate. Just like martial arts, Crossfit is about intensity, demands proper movements, and forms passionate and cohesive communities.

IMG_20141109_195214

Me sandwiched by the amazing coaches who led my training

IMG_20141106_213552

Afraid of not being taken seriously, I packed fully paleo meals. And I was just about the only one.

About Keren

I'm Keren, a 25 year old personal trainer, living in Urban Connecticut. Disclaimer I am not a registered dietitian nor do I have certifications for everything I share. My recommendations are based mostly on my opinion from personal experience.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Martial Arts, Mindfulness, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

