Taking Time to Smell the Flowers

So I’ve spent my last several blogging hours sandwiched between a homeless excessive nose-picker and a gigantic tattooed man watching violent YouTube videos. Don’t worry, these are not my new friends. Unless library computer cubical neighbors qualify as friends. Lets back up a little. So my computer Little Miss Mac, went for a swim several weeks ago. Its a messy story involving a water bottle, but long story short, she didn’t make a complete recovery, leaving me computerless. I wasn’t overly devastated as Miss Mac was quite an old lady at this point and was not really in it for the long run we can say. Okay, its just like life pre 2005 before I had my own computer. No bid deal. A small part of me welcomed the challenge. I reasoned; I have a smartphone, I have a computer at work and I live three blocks from the library.  So I was finding myself at work on my off hours or pathetically attempting to do some mobile uploads, (also referred as “muploads” by this crazy generation). Wow, I really don’t deserve to own a computer. Then blogging at work began to throw off my mojo. I was constantly interrupted (which is fine, I love my job, just not a conducive atmosphere for blogging). So I went to the library. Its filled with heavy breathers, loud whisperers and some fellas like I mentioned before. But when I got past my surroundings, I found my grove and the library has worked as a great resource.

You may ask why I am sharing this long-winded uneventful story. Well my friends, I’m looking at this situation as a necessary challenge.  With technology, everything comes so easily. We can find any answer within seconds just by whipping out our phones. We no longer look up directions when traveling somewhere new. We are encouraged to let a robot ring up our store purchases. Of course there are amazing benefits to this new lifestyle. We can have face-to-face conversations with people across the world. We can wear a bracelet that beeps if we were too inactive that day. And finding answers immediately is definitely something to appreciate. As I’ve said so many times before, with everything in life we need a balance. We shouldn’t be glued to our phones but we also shouldn’t boycott technology if we are trying to be successful. Take some time everyday to put your phone aside and maybe one day a week don’t be afraid to neglect your computer. It won’t miss you. And you might surprise yourself at how refreshed and productive you feel.

About Keren

I'm Keren, a 25 year old personal trainer, living in Urban Connecticut. Disclaimer I am not a registered dietitian nor do I have certifications for everything I share. My recommendations are based mostly on my opinion from personal experience.
This entry was posted in Mindfulness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

